Thomas Jefferson EMS Council

Purpose and Typical Duties

The Thomas Jefferson Emergency Medical Services Council covers counties of Albemarle, Fluvanna, Green, Louisa, Nelson and the City if Charlottesville (planning District 10) and Madison County (planning District 9) in Central Virginia. They also work closely with the EMS agencies in Orange and Buckingham counties. With over thirty EMS agencies, the Council enjoys an excellent working relationship with its two hospitals, The University of Virginia Medical Center (Level 1 Trauma Center) and Martha Jefferson Hospital.

The Thomas Jefferson EMS Council is an integral part of the EMS system whose function is assess, identify, coordinate, plan and implement an effective regional EMS delivery system in partnership with the Virginia Office of EMS and the Virginia Advisory Board

Length of Term

1 Year 

Term Limitations

There are no limits on the number of terms a member may serve.

Number of Members

2 Members

Meeting Time and Place

Meetings are held at Thomas Jefferson EMS Council (400 Martha Jefferson Dr., Ste. 100). Meetings are held the second (2nd) Wednesday at 7 PM in September, November, January, March, May and July.

Member Qualification

A representative from Madison County's EMS. 



Appointment Process

Members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors.




Name:Appointment Expires:Email:
Carty Yowell
Email Carty Yowell
Dustin Dawson (Alternate)
Email Dustin Dawson